Mar 24 2008

John Rzeznik To Receive Hal David Starlight Award At SongHall Gala

New York, N.Y. March 24, 2008 – Hal David, Chairman/CEO of the Songwriters Hall of Fame, today announced that John Rzeznik of the Goo Goo Dolls will be the recipient of the Hal David Starlight Award at the 2008 Awards dinner, slated for Thursday, June 19th, at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City.

The Hal David Starlight Award, created in 2004, was renamed in honor of the SHOF Chairman for his longtime support of young songwriters. Award recipients are gifted songwriters who are at an apex in their careers and are making a significant impact in the music industry via their original songs. John Rzeznik joins the prestigious company of Rob Thomas, Alicia Keys, John Mayer and John Legend as past recipients of the Hal David Starlight Award.

As songwriter for one of rock’s best-selling and most beloved bands, John Rzeznik has penned a series of chart-topping songs, beginning in 1995 with the No. 1 hits “Name,” “Iris,” and “Slide,” followed by “Black Balloon,” “Broadway,” “Here is Gone,” “Big Machine,” “Sympathy,” “Better Days,” “Stay With You” and “Let Love In” — setting a record for the most Top 10 hits in Hot AC Radio history with 14 consecutive tracks. “Iris” spent nearly a year on Billboard’s airplay charts and 18 weeks at #1. “Slide” went #1 in six different radio formats. The Goo Goo Dolls have sold 10 million records worldwide and were nominated for four Grammys and an MTV Video Award. At present, The Goo Goo Dolls are in their Buffalo, New York recording studio working on the follow up to their 2006 album, Let Love In.  The band actively participates in philanthropic work with such organizations as USA Harvest, VH1’s Save The Music and the Food Bank of Western New York.

Commenting on the award to Rzeznik, Hal David said, “John Rzeznik is well-deserving of the Starlight Award, not only shining as an outstanding, talented songwriter, but one with a unique vision. We are pleased to honor him with this prestigious award.”

Inductees at this year’s event include Desmond Child, Albert Hammond, Loretta Lynn, Alan Menken and John Sebastian.  Other honorees to be announced.